Ron Hornaday Jr., the only four-time Craftsman Truck Series champion in NASCAR history, is the latest addition to NASCAR‘s 75 Greatest Drivers.

The Palmdale, California native won 51 times in the Truck Series, a record that held until Kyle Busch broke through for No. 52 in 2019. He was a series regular nearly every year from its first season in 1995 until hanging up the fire suit in 2014, collecting 158 top fives and 234 top 10s along the way. Hornaday finished in the top five in points nine times, including two titles and a runner-up from 2007-09.

Hornaday, a 2018 NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee, won six races in a season four different times (1995, ‘98, ‘08, ‘09), twice setting the high-water mark for victories among contenders for a single season. His first two titles came driving for Dale Earnhardt in 1996 and ‘98, with the latter two coming behind the wheel of a Kevin Harvick Inc. Chevrolet in 2007 and ‘09.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *