Bobby Labonte, the first NASCAR Cup Series champion of the 2000s after holding off runner-up Dale Earnhardt for the 2000 crown, is the latest addition to NASCAR‘s 75 Greatest Drivers list.

The Corpus Christi, Texas, native won 21 times in the Cup Series, riding a four-win season to his first premier series title in 2000 just a season removed from a career-high five victories and runner-up standings finish to Dale Jarrett.

A success in all three of NASCAR‘s national series, Labonte was the first of six drivers to win both an Xfinity Series and premier series championship, with an Xfinity title in 1991 complementing his Cup trophy. At the time of his 2020 induction, Labonte was also one of 41 drivers in history to win a race in all three national series, collecting 10 Xfinity victories and finally cracking through in the Craftsman Truck Series for his first win there in 2005 at Martinsville Speedway.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *