Stewart-Haas Racing (SHR) has made select organizational changes to its crew chief lineup that will be in effect beginning with the upcoming Nashville (Tenn.) Superspeedway race weekend June 24-25.

Richard Boswell, the main steward of SHR‘s NASCAR Xfinity Series program since its inception in 2017, is now the crew chief for driver Chase Briscoe and the No. 14 team in the NASCAR Cup Series. Boswell had been the crew chief for SHR‘s No. 98 Xfinity Series team and driver Riley Herbst. Boswell won eight Xfinity Series races with Briscoe over a three-year span (2018-2020), including an impressive six-win campaign in 2020, before becoming the crew chief for Herbst in 2021.

John Klausmeier, the former crew chief for the No. 14 team, remains at SHR and has transitioned to the company‘s vehicle performance group.

Replacing Boswell as crew chief for the No. 98 Xfinity Series team is Davin Restivo. Since 2022, Restivo has been the lead engineer for the No. 10 team and driver Aric Almirola in the Cup Series. Prior to his time with the No. 10 outfit, Restivo was the lead engineer for driver Cole Custer, first in the Xfinity Series (2019) and then moving up with Custer to the Cup Series (2020-2021). Before joining SHR in 2019, Restivo was an engineer at Chip Ganassi Racing.

“We made these changes in the best interests of the entire organization,” said Greg Zipadelli, chief competition officer, SHR. “Different people in new positions brings new perspectives. There‘s still a lot of racing left to do this year, which means there‘s still a lot of opportunity. We need to seize these opportunities and make the most of them, and fresh perspectives from the top of the pit box to the preparation inside the shop will help us do that.”

— Stewart-Haas Racing —

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *