Kyle Larson was honored Wednesday night with the Best Driver Award at the 2022 ESPYS.

Larson was up for the award with Max Verstappen (Formula One), Steve Torrence (NHRA) and Alex Palou (IndyCar).

The driver of the No. 5 Chevrolet won 10 races and the All-Star Race in his first season with Hendrick Motorsports in 2021. He capped the season off with a victory in the Championship 4 race at Phoenix Raceway to earn the organization’s 14th Cup title and his first championship.

Larson‘s ESPY win marks the 19th time a NASCAR driver has won the award. Hendrick Motorsports has had a driver honored nine times as Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson each won four times. Prior to Larson taking home the honor tonight, Kyle Busch was the most recent NASCAR driver to receive the award in 2019.

Wednesday night also saw Larson victorious on the track as he won the World of Outlaws race at Port Royal Speedway in Pennsylvania.

— Hendrick Motorsports —

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *