Travis Pastrana became the first repeat winner of the Nitro Rallycross season, heading off Vermont SportsCar teammate Conner Martell in the first final of the series‘ double-header weekend at Wild Horse Pass in Phoenix.

Pastrana started the main under the lights from pole after taking the top qualifier spot, then backing that up with a heat win.

Among those missing out on appearing in the final were NASCAR Cup series drivers Austin Cindric and Chase Elliott, who finished fourth and fifth respectively in the LCQ.

They joined Oliver Bennett on the sidelines who, despite a stellar start to the weekend with his best qualifying result to date, retired from the first heat after contact with Martell, and was then disqualified from his semifinal after heavy contact with Cindric. His initial third place finish in that race would have sent him to the LCQ regardless, and there he wound up third once again.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *