NASCAR Cup Series champions Kurt Busch, Las Vegas, Nev. and Kevin Harvick, Bakersfield, Calif., winners of nearly 100 premier division races including the Daytona 500 and other crown jewel events, head the West Coast Stock Car/Motorsports Hall of Fame‘s five-member Class of 2023.

Their fellow enshrinees — chosen via two rounds of voting by the Hall‘s board of directors — are Matt Crafton, Tulare, Calif., a three-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion and winner of 15 NASCAR national series races; Brent Kaeding, Campbell, Calif., a 13-time Northern Auto Racing Club (NARC) sprint car champion and World of Outlaws winner; and Lyn St. James, Scottsdale, Ariz., International Motor Sports (IMSA) class winner at the Rolex 24 at Daytona and 12 Hours of Sebring, Indianapolis 500 rookie of the year and leader in furthering the Women in Racing organization.

The Class of 2023 — the hall‘s 20th — will be enshrined Thursday, June 8, during the West Coast Stock Car/Motorsports Hall of Fame‘s induction gala, presented by World Wide Technology Raceway, at Sonoma Raceway‘s Turn 11 Club VIP/Hospitality complex encircling the road course‘s iconic Turn 11.

The event opens a packed weekend of racing at Sonoma Raceway, which includes the NASCAR Cup Series, NASCAR/ARCA Menards Series West and the inaugural Northern California appearance of the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

The organization also will induct its sixth Heritage class, comprised of individuals whose careers largely ended prior to 1971. The 2023 Heritage inductees will be named in April.

Also featured will be the 3rd Annual Kickin‘ Doorz Down Philanthropist of the Year Award presented by 51FIFTY. This award recognizes an individual that has displayed a heart for giving back to others, through charitable giving or in-kind services to the industry. Previous honorees are Mike Curb, 2001 and the Sonoma Chapter of the Speedway Children‘s Charity in 2022.

Highlights of the induction ceremonies will be broadcast by Speed Sport1 later this summer, air dates and times to be announced.

“Highlighting the Class of 2023 is the election of Lyn St. James, who joins 2003 inductee Margo Burke and 2021‘s Motorsports Lady of the Century Linda Vaughan in West Coast Motorsports Hall of Fame. We recognize the significant achievements of these and other women on the growth of the motorsports industry,” said Ken Clapp, Chairman and CEO of the West Coast Motorsports Hall of Fame. “We also are pleased to salute three NASCAR national champions, as well as arguably one of best sprint car competitors of his era.”

West Coast Stock Car/Motorsports Hall of Fame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *